CAFP Ryerson

CAFP Ryerson is part of a national association that provides opportunities for professionals and students to network, mentor and develop in the foodservice field.

Meet Michelle Jaelin

Leave a comment

1. How did you end up in your chosen occupation?
“I became interested in food and health sometime during my first degree in Visual Arts. I landed a job as the Nutrition Team Leader at Health Education and Promotion in my last year at York University. That same year, I was inspired by the photojournalism book Hungry Planet: What the World Eats by Peter Menzel and Faith D’Aluisio. Using my photography skills, I took my own photographs and used them in an exhibition for a nutrition wellness event called What Students Eat. Inspired by the buzz and dialogue generated from these photos on food and nutrition, I decided to pursue my passion to become a registered dietitian.”
2. Was that always the occupation you wanted to end up in
“Not at all. Growing up I initially wanted to be a fashion designer or a chef. Then I wanted to be teacher. I guess I was always drawn to creative fields!”
3. Is there anything else you would like our readers to know about you or your path to your current occupation?
“The path to pursue any dream is full of obstacles, roadblocks and failure that try to lead us down different directions – just like mine. But if you stay positive, focused and work hard on your ultimate goal, you will achieve it!”
Hear more from Michelle Jaelin at Dietitian’s Day next Thursday in the SCC. Register on ConnectRU: tinyurl.com/gofk7zn.
Author: cafpryerson

Canadian Association of Foodservice Professionals - Ryerson University Student Branch

Leave a Reply

